Back:  Clubs

Port Melbourne Yacht Club

Postal Address: PO Box 174
Phone 03 9645 3107
Fax 03 9645 1028
Classes sailed
  • 420 (International Class)
  • Contender (International Class)
  • Fireball (International Class)
  • Hobie 16 (International Class)
  • Hobie 18 (International Class)
  • Hobie Tiger (International Class)
  • Jollyboat
  • Laser (Olympic Class)
  • Laser 4.7 (International Class)
  • Laser Radial (Olympic Class)
  • Off The Beach Catamarans
  • Pacer
  • Sabot
  • Taipan
  • Tasar (Recognised Class)
  • Bar
  • Bathroom facilities for members with a disability
  • Boat Storage
  • Canteen
  • Clubhouse
  • Function Centre
  • Member Parking
  • Rigging - Sand
  • Sailing School
  • Showers
Activity Days Saturdays racing. Sunday afternoons and Wednesday evenings during Summer
Club Activities Sailing September to May. Sailing Schools for juniors and adults. Open Day and Try Sailing Day in November. PMYC regularly hosts Interclub, State and National regattas. Social Events
Open times Member Access all times Sat 9-6pm (Summer) Wed 11-6 all year
Club information Club founded 1889. The clubhouse burned down in 1990 and the new striking building was rebuilt by members and opened in 1998. Open membership.
Other information PMYC offers friendly Off the Beach sailing for monos & cats. The club house site is unrivalled, built over the water with views of Port Phillip Bay & the city. Racing each week Sept to May is keen but friendly. Jollyboat fleet is unique to PMYC Functions can be arranged through Peter Rowland Catering on 9646 9599


Name Position Email
Alisanne Green Women and Girls in Sailing Club Coordinator
Peter Bartels Commodore
Michele Meehan Commodore - Vice
John Carrig Commodore - Rear
Mark Stichbury-Cooper Club Captain
Simon Potocnik Club Secretary
John Clayton Treasurer
Matthew Bamford Club Committee Member
Michael Broise Club Committee Member
Hagen Diers Club Committee Member
Simon Field Club Committee Member
Alisanne Green Club Committee Member
Richard Hampton Club Committee Member
Colin McLeod Club Committee Member
Stephen Owens Club Committee Member
James Temple Club Committee Member
Adam Todhunter Club Committee Member
Peter Bartels Club Delegate
John Carrig Club Delegate
Margaret Tormai Correspondence Contact