Back:  Clubs

Altona Yacht Club

Site Address: 10 Beach Street 
Seaholme VIC 3018
Postal Address: PO Box 28 
Phone 03 9398 5859
Classes sailed
  • 125
  • 49er (Olympic Class)
  • B14 (Recognised Class)
  • Corsair
  • Fireball (International Class)
  • Hobie 14 (International Class)
  • Impulse
  • Laser (Olympic Class)
  • Minnow
  • Mosquito Catamaran
  • NS14
  • Off The Beach Catamarans
  • Open all classes welcome
  • Pacer
  • Paper Tiger Catamaran
  • Sabre
  • Taipan
  • Tasar (Recognised Class)
  • Trailable Yacht Various
  • Bar
  • BBQ Area
  • Boat Storage
  • Canteen
  • Clubhouse
  • Hall Hire
  • Launching Ramp - cement
  • Member Parking
  • Playground
  • Rigging - lawn
  • Sailing School
  • Showers
Activity Days 2.00pm Saturdays September - April.
Club Activities Social Club Activities. GISBS Training Programs for adults and juniors
Open times Training Saturdays 9.00am to noon. Saturday afternoon racing open until ~6.00pm.
Club information Altona Yacht Club is a club for young people and has an emphasis on families and family involvement in club racing and social events. The club is situated close to the Seaholme station and Westgate Fwy via Millers Road.
Other information Altona Yacht Club was founded in 1953 and is a community based club with unlimited FREE car parking and ample rigging area. In all wind directions we have safe launching /retrieving facilities for both "off the Beach" boats and trailables with a safe harbour adjacent to the club. The club has under cover boat storage for OTB boats, a staffed canteen and a large function room. A magnificent view of the city can be seen from the first floor observation and control tower area. During racing the control tower is in radio contact with the rescue boats which are manned by qualified volunteers. From October to May we have training classes on Saturday mornings.


Name Position Email
Jessica Kidd Women and Girls in Sailing Club Coordinator
Chris Bick Commodore
Craig Shepherd Commodore - Vice
Brad Carver Commodore - Rear
Peter Dyer Club Captain
Frederick Ackland Club Secretary
Spiro Marinakis Treasurer
Scott McDonald Membership Secretary
Ken Marsh Race Secretary
Phil Johnson Club Committee Member
Gail Lines Club Committee Member
Brian Smith Club Committee Member
Craig Turner Club Committee Member
Brad Carver Club Delegate
Stephen O'Brien Head Instructor
Chris Bick Handicapper